Play On



08-30-2019 – Various Artists

This quasi pre-release digital album from the New Complete Edition brings together world premiere recordings with other little-known fragments and arrangements for piano and for string quartet, as well as further works for piano and flute, which are in fact doubtful that they are from Beethoven.

In so doing the album reflects the overall Complete New Edition’s commitment to artistic quality and the most comprehensive coverage of the composer’s music. The world premiere recordings include the Menuett in C Major, WoO 218, performed by Lang Lang, and no less than nine fragments or movements – including the last musical thought Beethoven wrote before his death – recorded by Daniel Hope (BTHVN 2020 spokesperson and newly-elected President of the Beethoven Haus).


09-13-2019 – Jan Lisiecki

Following his acclaimed Mendelssohn concerto recording earlier this year, Jan Lisiecki realises a complete cycle of Beethoven’s piano concertos.


“If one thinks of the Beethoven concerti as novels”, says Lisiecki, “each offers a deep spiritual journey. Performed together, this definitive anthology gives new light to the power of Beethoven’s genius.”

Set for international release on September 13, 2019, the album can now be pre-ordered. Enjoy two pre-release tracks on the streaming platform of your choice!


In anticipation of Beethoven’s 250th birthday in 2020, Jan LIsiecki presents a full cycle of Beethoven’s five piano concertos, accompanied by the Academy of St Martin in the Fields. Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major, Op. 58 has particularly played a significant role in Lisiecki’s career. In 2013, he performed the work with Orchestra Mozart under Claudio Abbado in Bologna, replacing an indisposed Martha Argerich at short notice, and he performed the same work at his Carnegie Hall debut.


  • Audio CD (September 20, 2019)
  • Original Release Date: September 20, 2019
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon


10-04-2019 – Andris Nelsons

Andris Nelsons, the leading conductor of his generation, takes on a full cycle of Beethoven’s eternal symphonies – leading the Vienna Philharmonic in a series of new recordings all made at the traditional Vienna Musikverein.


These will be released on October 4 digitally and in a deluxe boxset on 5 CDs with a Blu-ray Audio of the complete repertoire in True HD sound quality.


Enjoy a pre-release track of the 1st movement of the 5th symphony on the streaming platform of your choice.


Grammy-winning conductor Andris Nelsons takes on the full cycle of Beethoven’s eternal symphonies, leading the Vienna Philharmonic in a series of new recordings all made at the Vienna Musikverein. The cycle will be released in a deluxe box set on five CDs, featuring a Blu-ray Audio with the complete repertoire in True HD sound quality.


  • Audio CD (October 4, 2019)
  • Original Release Date: October 4, 2019
  • Number of Discs: 6
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon
  • ASIN: B07TJKC26B


  • Audio CD (November 22, 2019)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Deutsche Gram France
  • ASIN: B07XR5G1J8






1 Symphony No.5 in C minor Op.67: I. Allegro con brio

London Classical Players · Roger Norrington

2 Für Elise, bagatelle in A minor WoO59

François-René Duchâble piano

3 Symphony No.3 ‘Eroica’ in E flat major Op.55: III. Funeral March (excerpt)

Scottish Chamber Orchestra · Jukka-Pekka Saraste

4 Piano Sonata No.14 ‘Moonlight’ in C sharp minor Op.27 No.2: I. Adagio sostenuto

François-René Duchâble piano

5 Symphony No.9 in D minor Op.125: IV. Finale: Ode to joy

James Morris bass / Wesminster Choir · Philadelphia Orchestra · Riccardo Muti

Symphonie No.7 in A major Op.92

6 II. Allegretto (excerpt)

7 IV. Allegro con brio

London Classical Players · Roger Norrington

8 Violin Concerto in D major Op.61: III. Rondo: allegro

Dmitry Sitkovetsky violin / Academy of Saint Martin in the Fields · Neville Marriner

9 Piano Sonata No.21 ‘Waldstein’ in C major Op.53: I. Allegro con brio (excerpt)

Mikhail Pletnev piano

10 Turkish March (from Die Ruinen von Athen)

Orchestre de Liège · Paul Strauss

11 Piano Concerto No.5 ‘Emperor’ in E flat major Op.73: I. Allegro (excerpt)

Bruno Leonardo Gelber piano / New Philharmonia Orchestra · Ferdinand Leitner

12 Romance for violin & orchestra No.1 in G major Op.40

Dmitry Sitkovetsky violin / Academy of Saint Martin in the Fields · Neville Marriner

13 Septet for clarinet, horn, bassoon, violin, viola, cello & double-bass in B flat major Op.20: III. Tempo di minuetto

The Nash Ensemble of London


1 Coriolan, overture

Die Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen · Daniel Harding

2 Choral Fantasy Op.80: Finale: Allegro ma non troppo · Presto

Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano / Arnold Schönberg Choir · Chamber Orchestra of Europe · Nikolaus Harnoncourt

3 String Quartet No. 8 in E minor ‘Razumovsky’ Op. 59 No. 2: III. Allegretto

Artemis Quartet

4 Fidelio: Chorus of the prisoners: ‘O welche Lust’

Thomas Ebenstein tenor · Ion Tibrea bass / Arnold Schönberg Choir · Berliner Philharmoniker · Sir Simon Rattle

Piano Concerto No.3 in C minor Op.37

5 III. Allegro con brio (cadenza: Beethoven)

Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano / Chamber Orchestra of Europe · Nikolaus Harnoncourt

6 Variations on ‘Bei Männern welche Liebe fühlen’ from Die Zauberflöte, WoO 46

Gautier Capuçon cello · Frank Braley piano

7 Piano Sonata No.8 ‘Pathétique’ in C minor Op.13: II. Adagio cantabile

François-René Duchâble piano

8 Violin Sonata No.9 ‘Kreutzer’ in A minor Op.47: III. Finale · Presto

Maxim Vengerov violin · Alexander Markovich piano

9 Trio for Piano, Violin & Cello ‘Archduke’ in B flat major Op.97: I. Allegro moderato

Haydn Trio Wien

10 Missa solemnis Op.123: Agnus Dei

Carol Vaness soprano · Waltraud Meier contralto / Hans-Peter Blochwitz tenor · Hans Tschammer bass

Tallis Chamber Choir · English Chamber Orchestra · Jeffrey Tate



Het leven & de muziek van Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827) op Compact Discs, DVD's en Boeken

%d bloggers liken dit: